University of Greenwich


The University of Greenwich has three campuses in London and Kent, England. These are located at Greenwich, in the grounds of the Old Royal Naval College, and in Avery Hill and Medway. The university dates back to 1890, when Woolwich Polytechnic was founded as the second-oldest polytechnic in the United Kingdom.
In 1970, Woolwich Polytechnic merged with various other higher education institutions to form Thames Polytechnic. In the following years, Dartford College (1976), Avery Hill College (1985), Garnett College (1987) and parts of Goldsmiths College and the City of London College (1988) were incorporated. In 1992, Thames Polytechnic was granted university status by the Major government (together with various other polytechnics) and renamed University of Greenwich.


Key Numbers

  • Average tuition fees - £12,100
  • Estimate living costs - £12,200
  • Minimum IELTS score - 6.5
  • Student satisfaction - 83
  • Employment prospects - 58.1 
  • International student ratio -  15.7%



  • The Times: 107
  • The Guardian: 95
  • QS World Rankings: 801-1000
  • Complete Unviersity Guide: 93