University of Exeter


The University of Exeter is a public research university located in Exeter, South West England, United Kingdom. The University of Exeter's predecessor institutions, the Royal Albert Memorial College and the University College of the South West of England, were established in 1900 and 1922 respectively. They would later become the university as we know it now in 1955 and received its Royal Charter as well as achieved full University status in the same year.

The institution expanded into a two campus university as it saw the addition St Luke's College of Education in 1978. By 1980, students number had gone from 3,400 in previous decade to nearly 5,200.In 2004, the University celebrated its grand opening of the £69 million Cornwall campus in Penryn as its reach across the region spread. In 2005, the numbers reached 13,500. There are three campuses in various corners of the South West, including the Streathem Campus and St. Luke's Campus in Exeter and Penryn Campus, near Falmouth in Cornwall.


Key Numbers

  • Average tuition fees - £15,950
  • Estimated living costs - £12,200
  • Minimum IELTS score - 5.5
  • Student satisfaction - 91
  • Employment prospects - 79.6
  • International student ratio - 18.2%


  • The Times: 9
  • The Guardian: 13
  • QS World Rankings: 158
  • Complete University Guide: 14