University of Bedfordshire


Although a new university, Bedfordshire is an institution with a rich heritage, and academic roots across the county dating back to 1882. The University of Bedfordshire has over 18,000 students, from more than 120 countries, at its five campuses across the UK:

Luton – a town centre based campus which boasts a range of industry-standard facilities as a result of a major investment programme, including the flagship Campus Centre (opened in 2008), the bespoke Postgraduate and CPD Centre (2013) and a state-of-the-art library, due to open early in 2016.
Bedford – an enclosed leafy campus which houses the Gateway teaching and learning building (opened in January 2015), the Campus Centre, which features a professional theatre and dance studios, a refurbished sports hall and discipline-leading sports science laboratories.
Putteridge Bury campus – an Elizabethan mansion on the outskirts of Luton which is home to many postgraduate students and the university’s Conference Centre.
Aylesbury – the university’s Buckinghamshire campus is fully equipped with purpose-built facilities for nursing and midwifery students.
Milton Keynes – opened in 2013, UCMK is the newest addition to the University of Bedfordshire and is located in the centre of one of the UK’s fastest-growing cities.


Key Numbers

  • Average tuition fees - £9,900
  • Estimated living costs - £12,200
  • Minimum IELTS score - 5.5
  • Student satisfaction - 84
  • Employment prospects - 57.9
  • International student ratio - 13.1%



  • The Times: 121
  • The Guardian: 98
  • Complete University Guide: 109