Queen Mary, University of London


  • Queen Mary's roots lie in four historic colleges: Queen Mary College, Westfield College, St Bartholomew's Hospital Medical College and the London Hospital Medical College.
  • The college was first established in 1887 and was admitted to the University of London in 1915.
  • Queen Mary merged with the medical schools of St Bartholomew's and the Royal London hospitals in 1995.
  • Queen Mary University of London is a member of the Russell Group of leading UK universities, recognition of its excellence in research and teaching. The Group, which includes other top universities such as Oxford, Cambridge and UCL, attracts some of the brightest students from all over the world and almost two-thirds of research funding in the UK. Graduates from Russell Group universities are especially valued by employers, giving them a head start when they apply for jobs.

Location and Transport

  • Queen Mary is inner London’s only campus based university. The main campus at Mile End is also the largest self-contained university campus in London.
  • The best of both worlds: a quiet campus set along the Regent’s Canal and only 15 minutes by underground from Oxford Street, central London. We are also in the heart of London’s East End, one of the most vibrant and exciting parts of the city, with Spitalfields, Brick Lane and the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park all on our doorstep. 
  • Queen Mary is made up of five campuses across central and east London: Charterhouse Square, Lincoln's Inn Fields, West Smithfield, Whitechapel and Mile End.
  • All our campuses are well connected to a range of public transport, including the London Underground system, with central London just minutes away.