Heriot-Watt University


Originating from the School of Arts of Edinburgh, founded in 1821 as the world's first Mechanics Institute, Heriot-Watt is one of the oldest higher education institutions in the UK, and gained university status by Royal Charter in 1966. Heriot-Watt University has established a reputation for world-class teaching and practical, leading-edge research, which has made them one of the top UK universities for business and industry.

International campuses opened in Dubai in 2005 and in Malaysia in 2013, offering students the unrivalled opportunity to transfer between campuses and obtain a truly global education. Heriot-Watt University has five campuses: three in the UK - Edinburgh, Scottish Borders and Orkney - one in Dubai and one in Malaysia.

The Edinburgh Campus combines a beautiful parkland site with all the attractions offered by one of the world's great cities. With Scotland's busiest airport and the UK’s largest train station outside of London, Edinburgh is easily accessible from both within the UK and internationally.


Key Numbers

  • Average tuition fees - £14,400
  • Estimated living costs - £10,800
  • Minimum IELTS score - 6.5
  • Student satisfaction - 89
  • Employment prospects - 77.9
  • International student ratio - 19%



  • The Times: 37
  • The Guardian: 26
  • QS World Rankings: 312
  • Complete University Guide: 29