Cardiff Metropolitan University


  • In 2015, the university celebrates its 150 year anniversary.
  • On 1 November 2011, the university officially became Cardiff Metropolitan University.
  • In 1996, the university gained university status and became known as the University of Wales Institute, Cardiff (UWIC). Prior to this the university was known as Cardiff Institute of Higher Education. In 1992 it gained independence from the local county council.
  • The history of the university can be traced back as far as 1865 with the opening of the School of Art in Cardiff city centre.
  • The School of Art merged with Cardiff Training College, Cardiff College of Food Technology & Commerce and Llandaff Technical College in 1976 as the South Glamorgan Institute for Higher Education. This institution occupied the same sites and offered similar vocational subject areas as Cardiff Metropolitan University does today.

Location and Transport

  • Cardiff Metropolitan University operates from two teaching campuses in Cardiff (Llandaff and Cyncoed) with one additional halls of residence campus at the Plas Gwyn Campus.
  • All conveniently located in the city of Cardiff, with excellent road links via the M4. Rail links and public transport provide access to shopping, nightlife and leisure activities.
  • Students have access to a dedicated bus service between all campuses and the city centre through the university’s Rider bus service.