Aberystwyth University


Founded in 1872 as University College Wales, Aberystwyth university has more than 140 years history. For a number of years, Aberystwyth University has been known for its world renowned teaching and research as well as an award winning student experience. 95% of the university's research is of an internationally recognised standard or higher in REF.  Aberystwyth provides the perfect balance between quality education and superb student life, offering a truly unique and enjoyable experience. It is a lively university town and a home-from-home to 9,000 students. Throughout the year the vibrant town is filled with students from around the world or buzzing with tourists, enjoying Aberystwyth’s sights creating an evident cosmopolitan feel to this Welsh seaside town. The second largest national library - The National Library of Wales, and one of UK’s largest art centre are adjacent to the campus, enriching and supporting student’s lives.

Recent awards: Top 10 University (Whatuni Student Choice Awards 2017), Top 5 in the UK and 1st in Wales for student satisfaction  (National Student Survey 2017), Top 10 in the UK and 1st in Wales for Teaching Excellence. ( The Times and The Sunday Times Good University Guide 2017).


Key Numbers                                               

  • Average tuition fees - £14,000
  • Estimated living costs - £10,500 
  • Minimum IELTS score - 6.0
  • Student satisfaction - 91
  • Emplyment prospects - 95.4



  • The Times: 56
  • The Guardian: 81
  • QS World Rankings: 481-490
  • Complete University Guide: 68